Media Contacts

Office of Media Relations
2121 Eye St., NW
Rice Hall 5th Floor
Washington, D.C. 20052

Phone: 202-994-6460
Fax: 202-994-9025
E-mail: [email protected]


Outstanding Federal Employees Recognized with Arthur S. Flemming Award

The George Washington University Will Honor 12 Winners at Awards Ceremony June 9
April 25, 2014
Nicole Carlotto: 202-994-6466; [email protected]
Kurtis Hiatt: 202-735-6361; [email protected]
WASHINGTON—An Air Force major who developed a maritime global surveillance system, a doctor pursuing medical strategies too risky for industry investment and a litigator dedicated to protecting human health and the environment are among the 12 federal employees who will be honored at the 65th annual Arthur S. Flemming Awards. The award is presented annually by the Arthur S. Flemming Commission and the George Washington University Trachtenberg School of Public Policy and Public Administration, in cooperation with the National Academy of Public Administration
Established by the Downtown Jaycees in 1948, the Flemming Awards honor outstanding federal employees with three to 15 years of federal service for their exceptional contributions to the federal government. Recipients are nominated by their federal agency and then selected from a pool of nominees through a competitive judging process. Awardees are selected based on their work performance and factors such as leadership, social equity support and their potential for continued excellence. To date, more than 600 individuals have received the award, which is named after quintessential public servant Arthur S. Flemming.
“The caliber of the achievements of the Flemming honorees ‘Class of 2013’ is extremely high and the judging panel faced a tough challenge in selecting the winning nominees,” said Peter Williams, president of the Arthur S. Flemming Awards Commission. “It’s abundantly clear that the federal government agencies continue to attract the very best in talent and provide an environment in which employees are able to flourish and perform outstanding work in the service of the nation.”
A ceremony honoring the award winners will take place on June 9 at GW. David Bray, chief information officer at the Federal Communications Commission and a 2012 Flemming Award recipient, will deliver the keynote address.
This year’s award recipients, organized by award category, include:
Applied Science and Engineering
Christopher Genelin, Technical Applications Center, U.S. Air Force
Maj. Genelin has been selected for his service in leading a joint team to provide planning, execution and management of national classified technical development programs. He also has developed a first-of-its-kind persistent global surveillance system capable of operating in a maritime environment.
Emanuel H. Knill, National Institute of Standards and Technology, U.S. Department of Commerce
Mr. Knill has been selected for his accomplishments in the field of quantum information science and engineering. He has developed essential mathematical foundations for exploring the rules of quantum mechanics, which enable the development of computing devices with increases in information storage and processing capability. 
Dmitry N. Kosterev, Bonneville Power Administration, U.S. Department of Energy
Mr. Kosterev has been selected for his vision and technical guidance as an electrical engineer with the Bonneville Power Administration’s nationally recognized synchrophasor project, which is the only network in North America designed to take split-second control actions when it detects a problem on the electrical grid.
Kenneth L. Senior II, U.S. Naval Research Laboratory
Mr. Senior has been selected for his innovative contributions and leadership as a mathematician, engineer and section head of the Naval Research Laboratory’s Space Systems Development Department. Mr. Senior has helped develop major advances in techniques and algorithms for time keeping, system synchronization and determination of precise GPS time.
Basic Science
Igor L. Medintz, U.S. Naval Research Laboratory
Mr. Medintz has been selected for his vision and as a leading scientist in bionanotechnology. Understanding the biological functions at a single-cell level can lead to a better understanding of diseases and enable developments for new treatments.
Carole A. Parent, National Cancer Institute, National Institutes of Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Ms. Parent has been selected for her achievements in the field of directed cell migration. Her contributions to defining the intricacies of single and group cell migration have advanced the understanding of the root causes of major public health challenges, including developmental defects, chronic infections, chronic wounds and various facets of cancer.
Thomas T. Perkins, National Institute of Standards and Technology, U.S. Department of Commerce 
Ms. Perkins has been selected for creating new ways to precisely measure and manipulate the key molecules of life (DNA, RNA, proteins) under real-world biological conditions for the first time through programs combining atomic force microscopy, laser physics, molecular biology and advanced electronics. 
Christopher B. Cornelissen, Naval Medical Center, U.S. Department of the Navy
Dr. Cornelissen has been selected for his outstanding achievements as director of the Medical and Surgical Simulation Center while spearheading Navy Medicine’s efforts to develop the first health care simulation center combining cadaveric- and mannequin-based training. 
Francesca Cunningham, Pharmacy Benefits Management Services, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Ms. Cunningham has been selected for her leadership within the Center for Medication Safety, which, under her supervision, has grown from five to more than 19 staff members. Additionally, her vision and support of creative solutions has resulted in the development of innovative medication safety programs. 
Legal Achievement
Angeline Purdy, Environment and Natural Resources Division, U.S. Department of Justice
Ms. Purdy has been selected for her record of accomplishments in civil litigation as a senior attorney on behalf of the U.S. and its agencies. She has successfully defended numerous government initiatives to protect human health and the environment, including the science underlying the Environmental Protection Agency’s determination that emissions of greenhouse gases endanger public health.
Social Science, Clinical Trials and Translational Research
Suzanne Meredith Gilboa, National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Ms. Gilboa has been selected for her accomplishments as a research epidemiologist and outstanding leader working to protect and promote the health of pregnant women and babies. She leads a group of researchers and public health practitioners to better understand the causes of birth defects that can be changed.
Robert J. Lederman, National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute, National Institutes of Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Dr. Lederman has been selected in recognition of his successful pursuit of new medical strategies too risky for industry investment. Among his numerous inventions, Dr. Lederman developed a non-surgical technique to tighten leaky mitral valves in patients with failing hearts.
The Trachtenberg School in GW's Columbian College of Arts and Sciences is a focal point for public affairs education, research and public service at the George Washington University. Building on a rich tradition of education for public service and on its location in the nation's capital, just a few blocks west of the White House, the Trachtenberg School offers a superior education for students wishing to pursue public affairs-oriented academic programs.
- GW -